This award recognizes an early career feminist scholar for innovative and outstanding community engagement. This engagement could include traditional academic engagement in research, teaching and service, as well as policy impact, public awareness and/or activism. The aim of the award is to recognize those efforts to build communities and forge conversations about issues that are relevant to the FTGS but which often go unacknowledged or unrewarded by academic institutions.

Please see Activism for information on the most recent awardee.


LucasDonna Hedlund, Aggie Hirst and Chris Rossdale (Conference at the Gates)


Melanie Richter-Montpetit

General Information

Recipients must meet the following criteria:

  1. The key criteria for this award is the outstanding and innovative quality of engagement that the nominee has pioneered with relevant communities (academic and/or non-academic). The emphasis will be on the quality of engagement rather than the quantity.
  2. Recipients must be a current member of FTGS and ISA.
  3. Nominees should have a PhD but not yet received tenure or equivalent promotions.
  4. Early career is loosely defined to account for diverse and nonlinear career paths.


  • Recipients receive a $500.00 (USD) cash prize and a certificate.

Selection Process

  • The winner will be selected by the FTGS Community Engagement Award Committee. This year’s committee are: Annika Bergman Rosamond (chair), Thais Bessa, Catherine Eschle, Thomas Gregory, and Paul Kirby.
  • The award will be presented at the Feminist Theory and Gender Studies (FTGS) Section business meeting during the ISA Annual Convention.

Apply for the FTGS Award for Early Career Community Engagement

  • Nominations should include a copy of the nominee’s CV and a letter of support. The letter should speak to the contributions made by the nominee and explain their importance.
  • Nominations can be made by anyone in the profession or by the relevant community group.
  • Nominations for this award are now open, and should be submitted to the Chair of the Award Committee (Annika Bergman Rosamond at by 1 August 2018.