About the Award

Feminist Theory and Gender Studies (FTGS) created the Inclusion and Transformation Sub-Committee in 2019 to de-center whiteness and western-dominated perspectives in the workings of the ISA generally and FTGS in particular in order to move beyond “diversity” and provoke transformative change in the field. The committee oversees the annual FTGS Convention Award in support of applicants committed to feminist perspectives and affiliated with or graduating from institutions that do not enjoy significant resource and geographical privilege, with non-western, marginalized, and precaritized scholars given first consideration. Among that group, priority is given to those in their final years of graduate work completion through to their first years of their post-doctoral career.

Awardees should have a paper accepted for presentation on a panel/roundtable at the ISA Convention (to any section). Nominees should demonstrate in their application their need for the award; a lack of institutional support, including precarity; and the significance of their participation in the Convention. Their application should also demonstrate an intention of forward-looking engagement with the FTGS Section, ISA organization, and ISA conventions. While nominees do not need to be members of ISA or FTGS at the time of applying, they must become members of ISA and FTGS to receive the award.

General Information

For the 2023 ISA Convention, we are offering two $800 awards. Funds will be disbursed upon proof of registration, panel / roundtable acceptance (to any section of ISA) and ISA/FTGS membership. Receipts or expense forms will be required: for reimbursement. The award is in the full sum, to be disposed of in the manner that best supports convention participation for the awardees. The costs may be used to cover for travel expenses, accommodation, visa fees, child care etc.

Selection Criteria

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA/FTGS (though this is not a requirement at point of application)
  2. Nominations/Applicants are asked to submit their CV and a 1-page letter outlining their case for support, detailing the following:
    • The significance of their presentation and of their attendance at the annual convention to their ongoing research program (e.g., response to referee/ evaluation)
    • Projected costs of attendance
    • Any institutional support or alternative resources available
    • Intention of ongoing engagement with the FTGS Section, ISA organization, and ISA conventions
    • Any other information establishing their status as late graduate students/early career scholars who lack geographical and other privilege; engage from non-western, marginalized populations/perspectives; and/or experience precarity as scholars


  • Cash prize of $800 (USD) will be awarded to 2 recipients

Selection Process

Past Winners

2022: Julio César Díaz Calderón  (University of Florida), Kiran Chauhan (Jawaharlal Nehru University), and Tripti Chowdhury (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

2021: Ayako Kobayashi, Huey Fen Cheong, Sharmila Parmanand, and Ariel Mekler

2020: Claudia Zanardi and Ariel Mekler

2019: Khushi Singh Rathore and Amanda Ferreira