This Feminist Theory and Gender Studies section award was established in 1996 to honor the best feminist theory and/or gender studies graduate student paper presented at that year’s ISA Annual Convention. This page collects pre-print versions of the winning papers for each year, accessible by clicking the paper title.


María José Méndez, “Acceptable Violence? Exposing hidden and normalized violence in the study of International Relations”.

Honourable mention: Aiko Holvikivi, “Beyond ‘co-optation vs. transformation: The paradoxical pedagogy of training the troops on gender”.


2018: Lewis Turner, “Syrian Refugee Men and the Gendered Operation of Humanitarian Power”
2017: Heidi Riley, “Male Collective Identity in the People’s Liberation Army of Nepal”
2016: Caroline Cottet, “Biology Was Constructed, Not Discovered: Gendered Bodies and the Biases in Medical Responses to Sexual Violence Against Men in War”
2015: Nicole Sunday Grove, “The Cartographic Ambiguities of HarassMap: Crowdmapping Security and Sexual Violence in Egypt”
2014: Rochelle Terman, “The Teleology of Anti-Imperialism: Islamophobia, Feminism, and Muslim Women’s Rights”
2013: John McMahon, ‘Depoliticization, Essentialization, or Transformation? UN Women’s Representations of Men and Masculinity’
2012: Megan Daigle, “Writing ‘Prostitute’ Lives: Researching Dissident Sexualities in Contemporary Cuba”
2011: Genevive Renard Painter, “Thinking Past Rights: Feminist Theories of Reparations”
2010: Lauren Wilcox, “Explosive Bodies: Suicide Bombing as an Embodied Practice and the Politics of Abjection”
2009: Rahel Kunz and Ann-Kristin Sjoberg, “Emancipated or Oppressed? Female Combatants in the Colombian Guerrilla”
2008: Nikki Detraz
2007: Catia Confortini
2006: Melanie Richter-Montpetit and Heather Turcotte
2004: Helen Kinsella
2002: Ann Towns
2000: Birgit Weiss

General Information

Recipients must meet the following criteria:

  1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA.
  2. The person nominated must have been a student at the time the paper was presented.


  • A $500.00 (USD) cash prize along with a certificate is awarded to the recipient.
  • The award comes with a peer-review by the International Feminist Journal of Politics with a prospect for publication.

Selection Process

  • Results of the competition will be announced in early September.
  • The winner will be selected by the FTGS Graduate Paper Award Committee. This year’s committee are: Shine Choi, Theresa de Langis, Catherine Eschle (chair), and Maria Martin de Almagro Iniesta.
  • The Committee Chair is responsible for notifying the recipient of the award and encouraging the Recipient to attend the Annual Convention at which the Award is to be presented so as to receive the Award in person.

Apply for the FTGS Best Student Paper Award

  • This year’s call is now open. The deadline for nominations is 17 June 2018.
  • Nominations may be made by anyone in the profession. We encourage in particular discussants and chairs on FTGS panels to let us know about outstanding papers you encountered. Self-nominations are also welcome.
  • Nominations should include contact information of the nominee and a copy of the relevant paper. They should be submitted to the Chair of the Award Committee (Catherine Eschle at