About the Award

This award, sponsored by Feminist Theory and Gender Studies (FTGS) section, was established in 1996 to honor an outstanding graduate student paper that covers themes and areas of interest of the FTGS.

The award is open to papers presented at the ISA Annual Conference in 2022 or at any ISA-affiliated conferences worldwide (e.g. CEEISA-ISA Joint International Conference in Belgrade, the ISA-Asia Pacific Conference in Singapore, and the ISA International Conference in Accra) from the period right after the ISA Annual Convention in 2021 until July 1, 2022.  Papers that were not fully sponsored by the FTGS section may be nominated. Given the disruption caused by COVID-19, we are accepting applications from anyone who was accepted to present at these conferences (even if they were unable to present in person or the conference was cancelled).
General Information

1.      We welcome papers from ISA members and non-members. However, the recipient must be a member of ISA when the award is granted. 

2.      The person nominated must have been a student at the time the paper was (due to be) presented.
*       A $500.00 (USD) cash prize along with a certificate.
*       The award-winning paper will be peer-reviewed by the International Feminist Journal of Politics (IFJP) with the prospect of publication.
Selection Process
*       Results will be announced in mid-September, 2022
*       The Committee Chair will notify the recipient  and encourage them to attend the ISA Annual Convention in 2023 to receive the award in person.

How to apply

The deadline for nominations is July 1, 2022, 11:59 PM (EST).
*       Self-nominations are strongly encouraged.
*       Nominations may be made by anyone in the profession. We encourage discussants and chairs on FTGS panels at the ISA Annual Convention and other ISA conferences to nominate outstanding papers you encountered.
*       Nominations must include contact information of the nominee and a copy of the relevant paper. They should be submitted electronically to the Chair of the Award Committee, Dr Sharmila Parmanand, s.parmanand1@lse.ac.uk.

We encourage students from geographical, social, gender, or intellectual backgrounds that tend to be underrepresented in academia to apply for this award.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s